ECOWAS denies the departure of Niger, Mali, and Burkina Faso.

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
Spread the news

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has turned down the request for the exit of Niger, Mali, and Burkina Faso from the organization.


The ECOWAS Commission has stated that it has not yet received any formal notification from Niger, Mali, and Burkina Faso regarding their intention to withdraw from the regional bloc. This comes in response to the military juntas of the three-member states announcing their immediate withdrawal from ECOWAS.

Despite the military threats by ECOWAS, led by President Bola Tinubu, and the previous consideration of forming a counter force called the Alliance of Sahel States, the military regime in Niger stood firm after the overthrow of the democratically elected government. ECOWAS had warned of military action if the Niger junta refused to transfer power.


The leaders of Niger, Mali, and Burkina Faso declared on Sunday that they had taken a sovereign decision to exit ECOWAS. However, the ECOWAS Commission, following the directive of the Authority of Heads of State and Government, emphasized that it has been actively working with these countries to restore constitutional order. The ECOWAS Commission considers Burkina Faso, Niger, and Mali as crucial members of the community and expresses the Authority’s commitment to finding a negotiated solution to the political impasse. The Commission will continue monitoring the situation and provide further updates as necessary.

Top Business Ideas for International Students in Canada

Understanding Canada’s New Attestation Requirement: A Guide for International Students

We are Ready for FIFA Sanctions: Parliament responds to Save Ghana Football demo

Blue cards to be introduced in football

About The Author

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *